Just a little post

Still not a legit post. Still in the midst of finals week/finishing up my first rotation. Taking a break tonight before diving back into studying. At least it’ll be for immunology (a subject I actually like… versus biochem or cell bio. blech)!

Anyway, last weekend, I spent some time adding some “new” music (most of these were released at least a year ago lol) to my rotation since my playlists were getting way too familiar and boring and made me sleepy instead of keeping me awake.

Here are a few albums I’ve been listening to that I thought I’d share:

1. Rooms of the House by La Dispute

I’m absolutely obsessed with this band and album. Definitely not geared toward the average music listener with their spoken word/punk/hardcore/rock influences but man, they get it so right. Their singer’s voice doesn’t actually sound that special/unique, but it just clicks perfectly with their overall sound and he has great vocal versatility. And their instrumental parts are not too flashy to detract from the vocals and lyrics, but they have these super “catchy” melodies. I definitely think this album is less heavy than their previous releases, but shows the band’s range of sound/musicality.

I’m the absolute worst when it comes to remembering lyrics and song titles, and I usually just make up my own, but I actually went to look the lyrics up for their songs because they’re such a huge part of the overall mood/feel of the songs. Poetic and stream-of-consciousness-like lyrics. Their lyrics are usually quite meaningful and actually “deep” and it’s so nice. And the rhythm of many of their songs makes it easy for me to block out the lyrics, allowing me to really focus on my task at hand. And they happen to be from Grand Rapids, MI so whenever they mention Michigan in their lyrics, I feel all 🙂 despite having only lived in Michigan for a few months 😉

Favorites on the album: Objects in Space, For Mayor in Splitsville, SCENES FROM HIGHWAYS 1981-2009, Woman (reading)

Click here to listen to the whole album.

2. Simple Math by Manchester Orchestra

Manchester Orchestra has been on my radar for a few years but they’ve never left a large impact on me. It’s one of those bands who have a great following, but I just never “got it,” if you know what I mean. So I’ve put off listening to this album for years(!) before deciding to give it a spin the other day and I’m so happy I did. The first few songs didn’t immediately grab my attention, but oh man this album gets to good. Another band with great lyrics and singer. While I’m not in love with Andy Hull’s voice, he has so much control over his voice and he’s so emotive, much respect.

They intense in a chill way but their songs still have great drama. Would describe them of a mix of alternative, rock and indie/folk. They remind me of a more rock-influenced/”up-beat” Bon Iver (especially in the song “Deer” and I don’t like Bon Iver but I kept listening!). Loving the use of strings in this album.

It’s just a lovely album. I totally “get it” now.

Favorites on the album: Virgin, Simple Math, Apprehension

Click here to listen to the whole album.

3. 9 Dead Alive by Rodrigo y Gabriela

I love these two. Amazing, amazing guitar players and musicians. Like, the album doesn’t even do their playing justice; they’re totally a group you have to see perform live to truly understand how fantastic they are. And I haven’t even seen them live. I just know lol. I wish I’ve seen them live; must be an insane amount of energy and holy shit it’s be a mesmerizing experience (Tammy, please enlighten us with their amazingness).

To be more specific, they are an acoustic guitar duo and their music is a blend of their influences, from flamenco to metal and it’s really interesting to hear these influences come together and in their music. The first time I heard one of their songs, I didn’t realize it was just two people, one guitar each. Like I didn’t believe my friend when she told me and we had to go on Youtube so she could find proof. We spent the next hour or two looking up their live performances and just generally squeeing.

Super happy they released another album and man, it’s so great. I put it on to study and ended up just sitting there, doing nothing, during my first listen. Worth it.

Favorites on the album: Misty Moses, Sunday Neurosis, The Soundmaker, Megalopolis

Click here to listen to the whole album.

happy listening!

-amy

One comment

Leave a Reply

