TBT: Music (the teenage years)

I’m typing this up on Microsoft Word as I’m on a train on Taiwan’s High Speed Rail (clearly without internet) on the way to visit my grandma for Mother’s Day. I was in a bad mood earlier and was sitting in the waiting area for the train when I decided to listen to some music from my teen angst days (mainly high school). I discovered music relatively late in life (summer before seventh grade), but like many people, music was, and still is, my main emotional outlet.

I pretty much had similar music preferences as someone part of the “scene”, but you’d never know, as I was (and still am) a short Asian girl who dressed like a 40-year-old lady (as my aunt kindly describes my style),

While my music tastes have evolved and I’ve slowly gravitated to more “mellow” music (for lack of a better encompassing term, see: “hipster/indie minus the Mumford”) in recent years, on particularly crappy days or shitty moments, putting on an old playlist seriously puts a smile on my face. Most of these songs were on constant rotation for a couple of years, but WOW has it been a while since I’ve visited some of these songs. There’s a variety of stuff posted below the cut.

So, teen-angst me, this post’s for you.

(Just a mild warning, there is some screaming, so maybe check your volume settings before clicking.)

Brand New- Degausser (possibly my favorite song ever. still and will hopefully always be on rotation. also, favorite band, yo.)

blessthefall- Higinia  (was my favorite song until it was replaced by the one above it. was also my favorite band until it too was replaced by the one above haha)

Good Charlotte- Wondering (first favorite song. first favorite band.)

Some others:

Inhale Exhale- Knowledge = Priceless

Escape the Fate- There’s No Sympathy For the Dead

Panic! At The Disco- The Only Difference Between Martyrdom And Suicide Is Press Coverage

The Devil Wears Prada- This Song Is Called

The Academy Is…- Slow Down

Emery- Do The Thing (You Want)

Maylene and the Sons of Disaster- Listen Close

Oceana- Hello, Astronaut

August Burns Red- Meridian

Yellowcard- Breathing

I Am Ghost- Pretty People Never Lie, Vampires Never Really Die

Taking Back Sunday- Makedamnsure

Underoath- A Boy Brushed Red… Living In Black And White

looking up all these songs… thnks fr th mmrs.

happy listening!

-amy

Leave a Reply

