SF eats: Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

2014-05-09 17.02.06

Background reading.

Let me talk to you about one of my favorite ice cream shops. I tend to think of myself as a rather avid fan of ice cream, and I am the first to suggest scoping out a new ice cream spot. Though Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous is not exactly new (they opened almost exactly four years ago, in May 2010), it was way out in Dogpatch and I never had reason to go there until I started working in a nearby lab. Now, of course, it’s a nice excuse to take a break from lab and go on a short bike ride in the warm sunshine – or extreme gusty winds, as was the case today. Their hours can be a little odd and unpredictable, and sometimes you’ll go on a Saturday afternoon and find that there’s a half hour-long line stretched out the door. But! It’s good ice cream, man. What can I say?

Flavor-wise, this may be my favorite ice cream place. Their flavors are unique but not super weird and boozy (I see you Humphrey Slocombe). They’ve also got some normal ones if you’re not feeling super adventurous – today there was vanilla bean and cookies ‘n’ cream. The flavors are generally about the same sweetness level as other artisanal ice cream places, which is to say that it’s less sweet than Cream. But what isn’t less sweet than Cream, really?

Texture-wise, this is pretty decent. It’s a distinctly ice cream-y texture, not as creamy as gelato and not as icy as sorbet. On the ice cream scale, it’s may be a little on the icier side, but not by much. Maybe similar to Tin Pot Creamery in Palo Alto. It varies a little by flavor, too.

Price-wise, they’re a little on the high side but nothing outrageous. It’s something like $3.50 for a kid’s size, $3.75 for a single scoop, $5.00 for a double, and $6.00 for a triple. Their house-made cone is an extra buck, and so are toppings. The scoops are reasonably sized for the price, not super-tiny like at Caravaggio in Berkeley.

This is what I got today:

2014-05-09 17.01.38

On top, crema catalana. I usually have a rule that I won’t eat an ice cream flavor twice until I’ve made a good-faith effort to try any other flavor that I might reasonably like. However, I did actually order crema catalana before. It’s really good! It’s got a burnt caramel ribbon running through it, and specks of lime give it a nice kick.

Below, lemon + ghost chile. This tastes basically like lemon for the first few seconds, before you realize it is super spicy. Like, “holy cow how is ice cream hurting my mouth” spicy. The kind that only hits the back of your throat, like you drank soda the wrong way. It’s pretty awesome.

Other flavors that I’ve gotten and particularly enjoy include:

White rabbit – condensed milk and white chocolate chips.

Coconut pink peppercorn – coconut and peppercorns. I really like pepper so this was great.

-Tammy

Update 5/14/14: I am eating a scoop of their coconut ice cream now, and it is the most perfect flavor and texture I could possibly hope for. Course, it’s over 90 degrees so I’m not in any position to be objective.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

