Chicken soup for the soul, noodles optional

I made chicken soup for the first time in my life. It tastes delicious, if I say so myself. I’ve had a string of disastrous attempts over the years so you can possibly imagine how happy this soup made me today. Honestly, I have been going around telling/texting everyone I know a picture of my soup with an “I made soup!” announcement.

Super simple and perfect for college students budget-wise. Also, great for sad and/or cold days.

chicken soup

Prep time: about 15-20 minutes for this untrained culinary failure
Cook time: 30m to 1hr

Ingredients used/recommended:

1/2 pack of chicken breasts
1 carton of low sodium chicken broth
2 carrots, peeled
2 white potatoes, peeled
2 stalks of celery
2-3 tablespoons of salted butter
1 teaspoon thyme
1-2 bay leaves
1 pinch of cayenne pepper and rosemary and oregano
salt and pepper
wheat flour noodles (optional)

Sadly, I have no pictures of the process and only ones of the final product, but it’s a relatively easy soup to make, so I’ll explain it in words the best I can.

1. If your chicken breast is frozen, defrost it. I used about half a package of chicken breasts (from Trader Joe’s).

2. Chop all the vegetables: I used one white potato the first time and one russet potato (lol they’re never in soups and I didn’t know better) the second time I made this and I definitely liked the smoother texture of the white potato more. I’d recommend using two white potatoes though. Chop, chop, chop some more: two peeled carrots ad two stalks of celery. And try to make all the bits relatively the same size so they’ll cook more evenly. Microwave the potatoes and carrots for about 1.5 minutes to help soften them a little. I then microwaved the celery for 0.5-1 minute (most likely not necessary, but why not).

3. Cut up your chicken into smaller pieces (preferably similar sized chunks so they’ll cook evenly for the same amount of time). I added a tablespoon of salted butter to a pan on medium heat and let it melt/brown slightly before adding the chicken. I cooked each side for about 2 minutes each or longer, but it really depends on the chunk size/chicken. Remove the chicken when it’s nearly done or done and let it cool to the side.

4. Begin boiling some chicken broth (I used Trader Joe’s low sodium chicken broth) in a pot (large enough to hold all the vegetables and chicken). I added a little salted butter (like half a teaspoon) but I have no idea if it did anything, but college is time for exploring, so why not? After boiling for a minute or so, dump all the microwave softened vegetables in and turn the heat to low and let it simmer.

5. Add spices! I used approx. one teaspoon of thyme, 1.5 bay leaves, a pinch of cayenne pepper (for some kick) and a pinch of rosemary. Salt and pepper to taste. I also bought some oregano so I’ll also add some of that next time I make this soup. Now simmer, simmer, simmer.

6. Shred your chicken. I just used my hands because I honestly don’t know if there’s another way to do it? The shredded chicken doesn’t have to be the same size and don’t worry if it’s a little pink. Dump the shredded chicken into the pot. I turned the heat up until it boiled before turning the heat back down to low.

7. Simmer/keep on low heat for 30m-1hr before eating.

8. Drink up!

9. If you want to make this chicken noodle soup, boil plain white wheat flour noodles (opaque white when cooked; I got mine from an Asian supermarket) in some salted water. After the noodles are cooked, place them in a bowl and fill the bowl to the brim with chicken soup! I feel weird boiling noodles directly in the soup since they’ll get super soft after a day and disintegrate and I hate that murky after-boil water so I boil my noodles separately and it tastes fine.

Two posts in a day! I’m procrastinating something fierce right now haha

-amy

Leave a Reply

