Smelling good

Let’s start this off with a picture of my small perfume collection:

L to R: DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom, D&G Light Blue, DKNY Pure Verbena, Escada Cherry in the Airnot pictured: Versace Bright Crystal

L to R: DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom, D&G Light Blue, DKNY Pure Verbena, Escada Cherry in the Air

I’m avoiding studying for my microbiology midterm (I wrote this intro during the summer… shows you how long I’ve put off finishing this post). Just going to briefly breakdown each of the four pictured above. I have a pretty sensitive nose (severe allergies and bad asthma runs in the family) and discovered at a young age I can’t breathe with constant heavy perfume (that old lady smell, yeah?) around. I originally didn’t understand the hype or the appeal of perfume. As a kid, because of my sensitive nose, I hated anything strong smelling and didn’t get why people would buy little bottles of liquid that were so concentrated in smell. But now that I’m older and get perfume samples everytime I buy from online beauty retailers, I get it a little more. Just a little (some fragrances make me wonder why they’re still in existence). Anyway, I personally favor light floral fragrances. I especially love scents with jasmine.

1. DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom

DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom

DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom

My go-to everyday perfume. I got this when Sephora was having their summer “$15 and under sale” for just $15 (down from $45). I couldn’t pass up on the deal and it also helped me qualify for free shipping so win-win situation. Initially, it smells fruity and “pink”-ly floral. I know you can’t smell colors, but if I had synesthesia, this perfume would definitely be a pink. According to Sephora, the perfume has notes of: Grapefruit, Cassis, Apricot, Muguet, Rose, Jasmine, Apple, Blond Woods, Smooth Skin Accord. For clarification: cassis is blackcurrant, muguet is lily of the valley and the last two scents, blond woods and smooth skin accord, mean musk.

This starts off pretty heavy smelling (likely due to the musk) but the scent dissipates (as in no longer overpowering) pretty quickly. I’d describe the scent more as floral rather than “sweet” (see: Prada Candy). My nose is pretty untrained (like my palate… do you sense a pattern? no pun intended) in distinguishing top, middle and base notes but I definitely smell more of the floral components and apple. I can’t really pick out the smell of apricot or cassis. The lasting power of this perfume isn’t too long but long enough. I’ll put it on in the morning (~9am) and still get whiffs of it by late afternoon (~5pm) which is perfect for me. I use perfume more for me than for other people so I usually only spray once; I hate it when someone walks by me and they leave a cloud of cologne or perfume in their wake. The packaging is a bit strange but cute and different. It took me 2-3 days to adjust to the shape but it’s not a negative. A bright floral fragrance, this is perfect for everyday daytime wear, especially for spring. I can’t seem to find anything but the 3.4 oz bottle on Sephora anymore (the above photo is the 1 oz bottle).

Retails for $80 at Sephora (3.4 oz)

2. Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue

d&g light blue

D&G Light Blue

The muskiest of my perfumes. I got this in one of Sephora’s Fresh Florals Deluxe Fragrance Sampler For Her (which also included DKNY Pure Verbena) that was on sale for $30 as a birthday present for myself. Since I was able to redeem any ~1oz bottle out of the five samplers, I thought it was a perfect idea. I originally wanted to redeem my coupon for the DKNY Pure Verbena bottle but the voucher only works in stores and there is no Sephora within 100 miles of here and NYC (went there for spring break but no luck either) that carries it. So I had to pick another fragrance out of the four remaining ones. I was debating between Coach’s Poppy Flower and D&G’S Light Blue before settling on Light Blue (the Coach scent faded in like 20 minutes… no lasting power on me). I felt like I needed a “night time” scent and was surprised by how much I liked this one. The notes: Sicilian Citron, Bluebell, Granny Smith Apple, Jasmine Sambac, Bamboo, White Rose, Cedarwood, Amber, Musk.

Between the cedarwood, amber and musk, I never thought this would appeal to me. Glad I was wrong. There’s enough of those three scents to make me describe this scent as heavier and musk-y, but not enough that it’s overwhelming. It’s also fresh smelling at the same time most likely due to the sicilian citron, bluebell and jasmine. I’m not sure I can smell the apple and bamboo, but what do I know? It lasts quite a while (6-7 hours?) and I do gets whiffs of it after that time span. I’d definitely wear this more as a night-time scent but I think it’d do well as an autumn/winter scent. It’s a bit heavy for spring and mostly summer wear, but it’s fresh enough to work well with daytime winter.

It came in a felt blue box and the packaging is pretty straightforward. Love the slightly opaque/rough exterior. One minor complaint: the cap is extremely hard to take off and everything I take it off, I have to pull/wiggle it hard enough that I feel like I might take the entire top piece off and have the perfume go flying across the room.

Retails for $48 at Sephora (0.8 oz, other sizes available)

3. DKNY Pure Verbena

dkny pure verbena

DKNY Pure Verbena

My first and favorite perfume. Like I honestly love this scent. It’s super fresh, warm and light and literally what I’d ever want in a perfume. I got a sample of this maybe 2-3 years ago and have been keeping tabs on the 1oz bottle and decided to finally buy it this spring when Sephora was taking 15% off everything. The sad thing is, I don’t want this bottle to run out and only wear it occasionally but I must remedy that ASAP because I think it’d be a perfect pick-me-up during the winter since it’s a bright scent that would mix well with the dryness and cold. The perfume contains notes of: Verbena, Honeysuckle, Peony, Jasmine Petals, White Amber, Sea Moss, and Vetiver. Once again, to my untrained nose, it’s difficult for me to pick out the individual scents. However, I’m sure I smell the jasmine, the flowers and probably the white amber. No idea what verbena, sea moss and vetiver would smell like but most reviews of this fragrance state that the verbena is strong when first applied but quickly fades. I honestly can’t tell (ha!), but I do know this scent should work for both day and night. It doesn’t seem to have the same lasting power as my other DKNY fragrance, but I’d say 6 hours is around the time where it really begins to fade but I’ll continue to get faint whiffs of it past 6 hours.

Packaging works for me. Some people seem to think the shape of the bottle (wide but narrow) is strange, but honestly, if I can use the DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom bottle, this one is a piece of cake. Love the simplicity of the bottle; it’s quite pretty imo. Speaking of packaging, according to Sephora, the bottle is 100% recyclable glass and aluminum and the box it comes in is compostable and made at a paper mill that runs 100% on renewable energy. I don’t know how accurate that is, but wonderful smelling and eco-friendly?! Like I said, everything I could ever want in a perfume.

Retails for $45 at Sephora (1.0 oz, other sizes available)

And last but not least…

4. Escada Cherry in the Air

Escada Cherry in the Air

Escada Cherry in the Air

Tammy and I went to New York this past spring break and we went to a few Sephora’s during our trip. We spent a good while in the SoHo Sephora especially in the fragrance area. There was a display/rack of rollerballs and sprays and we went crazy. We have pretty different tastes in scents (sensory pun?): Tammy prefers fruity and possibly muskier smells whereas light florals are my thing. I love jasmine… Tammy’s not so fond of jasmine. But Cherry in the Air is one of the handful of perfumes we both enjoy. Tammy immediately took a liking to it and bought it on the spot. However, initially, I wasn’t too fond of the scent but as the day went on (I had sprayed it on my wrist), I liked it more and more and ended up also buying one a few days later.

The notes: Black Cherry, Raspberry, Mandarin, Marshmallow, Gardenia, Coconut, Sandalwood, Oakwood. I can definitely smell the black cherry, marshmallow and coconut. Probably also the sandalwood and oakwood to a lesser amount. It’s a sweet and sugar-y smelling perfume and on the light side (where I’d say Prada’s Candy is sweet and on the heavy side). I haven’t worn this in a while so I’m not sure about lasting power but I’d say it’s like DKNY Pure Verbena- 6-7 hours and whiffs afterward. I’d say this is another possible year-round scent. It’s a bit sweet for spring/summer but would work for night time use and it would be food for winter due to the crisp dry air we get over here. I don’t imagine I’d like this very much in humid environments. It would get too overwhelming (to me anyway) and make me nauseous.

Packaging is typical of a mini spray bottle. Love the little cherries, but shame it’s a limited edition. Tammy and I have both been considering buying a full size bottle of this before it’s gone forever.

Retails for $25 at Sephora (0.25 oz, other sizes available)

Now that we’re heading into autumn and winter, I’ll be reaching more and more for DKNY Pure Verbena and D&G Light Blue because they’re honestly perfect for the weather we get here.

Other scents/perfume samples I’ve tried and loved are Versace Bright Crystal (most likely my next full-size perfume purchase if I can manage to finish one of these other four), Chloe Chloé Eau de Parfum and Jo Malone English Pear & Freesia (another perfume Tammy and I agree on).

Hope that was a helpful and comprehensive review! I’ve got a Berkeley pizza review in the works, and I’m heading to Fentons Creamery tonight so keep an eye out for all the food pics!

-amy

One comment

Leave a Reply

