We interrupt this broadcast… (A day in the city)

I know, I still have more than a week’s worth of Asia trippin’ to blog about. Just wanted to post an update about a recent exciting purchase…

The Jo Malone Blackbery & Bay Cologne!!

+jomalone_blackberry_and_bay_cologne

A bit of context: Amy and I recently went to San Francisco for a day of food and shopping. First we stopped by Dottie’s, a cafe located quite close to the Powell BART station. It was an hour-long wait, which was expected but not appreciated. (Apparently long brunch waits are a San Francisco phenomenon?) But if you see it as an hour to chat with your brunch buddy, people-watch/eavesdrop, and admire the nearby architecture, then it’s not so bad. Plus, it’s super exciting in a depressing way when the line inches forward.

I ordered the whiskey-fennel sausage, mushroom and baby spinach scramble, along with a hot chocolate. The drink turned out to be excessive, since the scramble was large and quite filling. It came with a slice of cornbread that had a jalapeño pepper jam sauce, which sounds weird in theory but worked wonderfully in practice. Everything was delicious, but near the end it was a struggle.

Later, we hit up all the usual spots – J.crew, Madewell, Gap, yadda yadda yadda. I believe Amy has some product reviews coming up – yea boi!

Also, I scored a cream Zara sweater for $17. I always thought of Zara as a little pricey, but this wasn’t even in the sale section. (It was a reduced price, but not in the sale section.)

Ok it looks a little sad on the hanger, but it's very cozy in real life.

OK it looks a little sad on the hanger, but it’s very cozy in real life.

Finally, we went to Nordstrom to buy the Jo Malone Blackberry & Bay Cologne. I first got a sample of it awhile back when I was browsing through the counter in another Nordstrom. The lovely thing about Jo Malone is that they give samples so freely. I know this because we asked for some English Pear & Freesia samples, and they gave us three each. And it’s not like in Sephora, where samples are decanted into mini spray bottles upon request – no, Jo Malone stocks pre-made, pre-labelled samples of their fragrances. These are fancy folks. And samples flow like none other!  In retrospect I should have asked for some other samples. Maybe the Nutmeg & Ginger, or the Grapefruit. I had been very excited to try the Nectarine Blossom & Honey, since I love peaches and Jen from frmheadtotoe loves it so much. (And I am a sucker for good reviews!) However, it smelled kind of off on me, and it didn’t blend well with my skin chemistry. So, lesson learned – don’t trust reviews! Everyone’s skin is different.

Anyways. Jo Malone fragrances are pricey but I loved my sample so much I wanted it to be my first full-size (ok, mini-full size – 1 oz) fragrance purchase! I think it was the bay leaves that won me over. Also, fun fact:  the former Kate Middleton’s wedding was scented with Jo Malone candles in Orange Blossom, Grapefruit, and Lime, Basil & Mandarin. So really, how could I not invest? (Don’t answer that.)

The saleslady wrapped the bottle up in its own box and tied a bow on it with black ribbon:

IMG_1118 IMG_1121

I haven’t used it yet because I want to use up my samples first. Although, I should probably just give my samples away, to spread the cult of Jo Malone. ^_^

Leave a Reply

