Audiobooks

Recently I’ve been somewhat addicted audiobooks. My two favorites are Tina Fey’s Bossypants and Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns). Upon discovering Amazon’s two free books promotion through audible.com, I immediately downloaded these two.

Bossypants-IsEveryoneHanging

The thing about audiobooks is that, like online lectures, it can be easy to zone out for a moment and miss important details. For that reason, I prefer audiobooks that 1) don’t have an overarching plot, 2) are funny and engaging, and 3) I’ve read and enjoyed before. Both these books fit all three criteria. It helps that I am well acquainted with Tina Fey and Mindy Kaling’s voices from TV shows, so listening to their audiobooks is like listening to a protracted edition of SNL’s Weekend Update or The Mindy Project.

I really like audiobooks from comedians and/or talk show hosts, and especially comedian talk show hosts. There’s something comforting about hearing a familiar voice talk at you for an hour before falling asleep, and they are absolutely hilarious. Next on my list is I Am America (And So Can You!) by Stephen Colbert and America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction by Jon Stewart. (What is it with parenthetical book titles these days?) Additionally, if Conan O’Brien, Kristin Wiig, Amy Poehler, Seth Meyers, or Jimmy Fallon writes and narrates an audiobook, I will be all over that shit. Someone notify me please!

Later,
Tammy

Leave a Reply

